Home All news

Katie Compton headlines Trek Cyclocross Collective


Trek Bicycle has launched the Trek Cyclocross Collective, a US-based ‘cross racing team headlined by eight-time US National Champion, recently signed up Trek sponsored athlete and ‘all-around badass’, Katie Compton. The three-time World Championship medallist, who began her professional racing career on Trek’s East Coast Regional Mountain Bike Team, will represent the Collective at world-level events, while a small army of popular domestic regional athletes will bring the world of Trek cyclocross to their local race series’ and the United States Gran Prix.

“I’m super excited about working with Trek. The support their Race Shop provides to athletes is unlike anything else out there. They’ve really stepped up and given me everything I need to perform,” said Compton. “I’m really particular with my equipment so having a hand in helping Trek develop products in the future is really exciting for me.”

The team will make its debut on 22 September at the USGP race in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, just down the road from Trek’s global headquarters. Members of the ‘Cross Collective will be piloting the aluminium Trek Ion CX and carbon Cronus CX bikes as they bunnyhop barriers, manhandle mud, and keep the cowbells clanging throughout the domestic race calendar.

The move into professional CX racing also provides Trek an opportunity to gain vital athlete feedback for developing cutting-edge racing equipment. Using elite-level athlete feedback in the early stages of product development is a process piloted through the company’s Race Shop and engineering teams that has contributed to every one of Trek’s new racing designs.

The members of the Trek Cyclocross Collective are a diverse group of women and men of all ages, from all over the US: ‘wise masters’ racers, young gun juniors, local heroes, and hip cats that bring the pain on the course and spread the fun of cycling’s most punishing discipline.’

In addition to Trek, the Collective is sponsored by SRAM and Honey Stinger.

The 2013 Trek Cyclocross Collective:

  • Katie Compton (CO)
  • Mark Legg (CO)
  • Russell Finsterwald (CO)
  • Tim Faia (CO)
  • Tom Price (KS)
  • Ellie Noble (MA)
  • Jesse Rients (MN)
  • Sven Bauman (MI)
  • Matt Tillinghast (NE)
  • Mark Savery (NE)
  • Jay Thomas (NE)
  • Tony Viton (OH)
  • Shannon Skerritt (OR)
  • Tamara Donnelly (WA)
  • Abby Strigel (WI)
  • Isaac Neff (WI)
  • Matt Shriver (WI)