Home All news

Orbea hits the road with UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team

Orbea partners with UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team

Spanish cycling firm Orbea has begun 2017 with a broad agreement with the UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC), a professional continental team that will compete in the American calendar and in numerous European classics.

With riders from all over the world and both a men’s and women’s team, the UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team will aim to be one of the leading teams this new year. It is a project that, in addition to competition, seeks to promote the benefits of exercise, nutrition and a healthy lifestyle, and to promote cycling and safety among young people.

Youth and experience
The men’s UHC team for the new season will consist of Janier Acevedo, Carlos Alzate, Alex Cataford, Jonny Clarke, Daniel Eaton, Sebastian Haedo, Adrian Hegyvary, Greg Henderson, Daniel Jaramillo, Chris Jones, Luke Keough, Gavin Mannion, Travis McCabe, Lachlan Norris, Tanner Putt and Danny Summerhill.

It is a squad that joins seniority and youth and whose goal is, in the words of Mike Tamayo, the team’s General Manager, “To fight to become the best team in the USA, combining the enthusiasm of the youngest members with the experience of the more established riders.”

Orbea notes that this will be essential in races lasting several days, where each effort and movement must be carefully planned; and that will be one of the strong points on a calendar in which the main objectives are the Tour of the Gila, Tour of California and Tour of Utah.

Regarding the women’s team, it will be made up of a large number of American cyclists (the young rider Janelle Cole and Tayler Wiles, two of the new additions this season; Katie Hall, last year’s winner of the Women’s Tour of Saint Louis; Lauren Hall, who gave a good performance at the Green Mountain Stage Race; the Paralympic athlete Shawn Morelli; Kate Sherwin and Ruth Winder, who competed in the Olympic Games in Rio). Pedaling alongside them will be veteran New Zealander Rushlee Buchanan, Australian Lauretta Hanson and Colombian Diana Penuela, who finished 2016 with a victory in the Circuito de la Feria de Cali.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.