Home All news

Rio golden girl Katie Kelly and IRONMAN Tim Reed scoop Triathlon Australia Awards

Paralympic golden girl Katie Kelly, with legendary guide Michellie Jones and IRONMAN athlete Tim Reed stole the show at Triathlon Australia’s Celebration of Champions Dinner on the Gold Coast last weekend.

The vision/hearing impaired Kelly, who became Australia’s first ever Paralympic gold medallist in Rio last year with her trusty guide Jones by her side, won both the Female Performance and Paratriathlon Performance Awards. Tim Reed, was named best Male Performer for his nail-biting win in the IM 70.3 World Championship in Mooloolaba and also took out the prestigious Athlete’s Athlete of the Year Award.

Joining Kelly and Jones and Reed in the winners circle were a host of deserved winners, including Charlotte McShane as the winner of the Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete Award, and golden girl Emma Snowsill – now Emma Frodeno who was inducted into the Triathlon Australia Hall of Fame – and Justin Godfrey, honoured for his gold medal triumph in the ITU World Cross Tri World Championships.

2017 Triathlon Australia Celebration of Champions Dinner, award winners:

  • 2016 Champion: Justin Godfrey – ITU World Cross Paratriathlon Champion; Katie Kelly/Michellie Jones – Rio Paralympic gold medallist
  • Tim Reed – 70.3 Ironman World Champion
  • Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete: Charlotte McShane
  • Female Performance of the Year: Katie Kelly Michellie Jones
  • Male Performance of the Year: Tim Reed
  • Paratriathlete Performance of the Year:Katie Kelly/Michellie Jones
  • Athletes Athlete of the Year: Tim Reed
  • High Performance Coach of the Year: Jamie Turner
  • Age Group Coaches of the Year: Corey Bacon (Performance Triathlon Coaching, ACT); Liz Gosper ( Inclusive Sports Training, VIC)
  • Legends of the Sport: Mark Pringle, Mike Maroney, Ken Uren, Carol Pickard
  • Services to the Sport Awards: Geoff Frost, Graham Hannan
  • Rob George Technical Officials of the Year Awards: Shane Burnett (Triathlon Western Australia); Kelly Bennett-Allan – (Triathlon Queensland); Andy McGuire (Triathlon Victoria)
  • Technical Officials 25 Years Service Award: Greg Lebeter




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.