Home All news

Trek moves women’s race to marquee spot for Trek CX World Cup

63

With registration for the Trek CX Cup now open to the public, Trek Bicycle has announced that it has moved the Women’s Elite race to the marquee position for the second-ever Telenet UCI World Cup Cyclo-cross Waterloo.

Set for September 21-23, the Trek CX Cup will host a full slate of amateur racing on Trek’s World Cup cyclocross course located steps from the company’s global headquarters and development facility. In keeping with its tradition of providing ‘free, reliable access to world class cycling’ Trek will once again livestream the Telenet UCI World Cup Cyclo-cross Waterloo on the brand’s website, trekbikes.com.

As the first – and only – World Cup to feature equal prize money for both the men’s and women’s professional fields, Trek has announced that it has made the decision to swap the order of Sunday’s main event so that the women’s race will receive the marquee position. The men’s elite race will begin on Sunday, September 23 at 13:30 Central US (20:30 CET) with the women’s race beginning at 15:15 Central US (22:15 CET).

“Trek’s decision to move the women’s event to the marquee spot is absolutely huge, one of the biggest changes we’ve seen at the world cup level, second only to equal pay last year,” said Trek athlete Ellen Noble. “This change sends the message to women athletes everywhere that we have a spot in this sport and our racing matters.”

“It’s undeniable that over the past few years, the women’s field has been incredibly exciting, and the athletes have never been more compelling,” said Trek’s Director of Sports Marketing, Tim Vanderjeugd. “This move not only elevates the women’s race, but it provides a more compelling viewing experience for fans of the sport.”

www.trekbikes.com/trekcxcup

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.