Home All news

2019 ÖTILLÖ Swimrun World Championship by the numbers


ÖTILLÖ, the Swimrun World Championship in the Stockholm archipelago is the original race of the popular and growing sport of swimrun. This year, the 14th edition of the race will see 160 teams of two from across the globe trail running and open water swimming for 75 km across the Swedish archipelago.

The race will be broadcast live, on Monday, 2 September from 05:45 CET on otilloswimrun.com/live.

Fast facts: ÖTILLÖ – Swimrun World Championship 2019

  • 14th edition
  • 75 km running and swimming from dawn till dusk in the Stockholm archipelago
  • 65 km of trail running
  • 10 km of open water swimming in the Baltic Sea
  • Water temperature 10-15° C
  • 24 islands to cross
  • 50 changes between running and swimming
  • The swims are between 100m and 1,780m long
  • The runs are between 70m and 19,700m long
  • Longest swim 1,780m
  • Longest run 19.7 km
  • 160 teams – three categories: men, mixed, women
  • Teams of two; ‘for safety reasons and for the unique experience’
  • 24 nationalities
  • Course record (2018): 7:39:25 Fredrik Axegård och Alex Flores (SWE), Team Sport Office

ÖTILLÖ, meaning ‘island to island’ in Swedish, has built a reputation as an iconic endurance race. The course is hard and long. Technical trails, slippery rocks, and cold, sometimes rough swims with a lot of current are all part of the demanding course of 65 km of running and 10 km of swimming, over and between 24 islands in the Stockholm archipelago.

The internationally growing swimrun movement saw its birth 14 years ago when ÖTILLÖ was conceived after a daring bet in a bar between four friends. The ÖTILLÖ team adds that ‘the phenomena of ‘alternating running and swimming on a natural course has grown to a new popular sport, swimrun, that is spreading rapidly around the world.’

During the 14 years of ÖTILLÖ, performance, experience and speed has dramatically increased around the 75 km long race course. Since three years, a few teams have accomplished the impressive feat of finishing under the magic eight-hour limit. This year there are more top teams than ever.

The fastest time ever around the course was set last year by the Swedish duo Fredrik Axegård and Alex Flores: 7 hours, 39 minutes and 25 seconds.

Winners 2018:

  • Men: Fredrik Axegård and Alex Flores (SWE), Team Sport Office, 7:39:25
  • Mixed: Martin Flinta (SWE) and Helena Erbenova Karaskova (CZE), Thule Crew/Wolffwear Swimrun, 8:16:15
  • Women: Kristin Larsson and Annika Ericsson (SWE), Team Outdoor Experten, 8:56:26

The ÖTILLÖ Swimrun World Series is in its fourth season with a minimum of seven qualifier races for the ÖTILLÖ Swimrun World Championship.

ÖTILLÖ Swimrun World Series 2019 (confirmed races)
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Hvar, Croatia, 7 April 2019
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Utö, Sweden, 19 May 2019
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Isles of Scilly, UK, 19 June 2019
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Engadin, Switzerland, 7 July 2019
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun 1000 Lakes, Germany, 22 September 2019 (qualifier to ÖTILLÖ 2020)
ÖTILLÖ Swimrun Cannes, France, 20 October 2019 (qualifier to ÖTILLÖ 2020)
ÖTILLÖ Malta, 24 November 2019 (qualifier to ÖTILLÖ 2020), new race

At each World Series event an Experience & Sprint race are organised the day before.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.